Happy National Proofreading Day!

Today, March 8, is International Women’s Day.

Every 2nd post in my Facebook newsfeed is some sort of celebration of that. I’m all for celebrating women and women’s acheivements, as well as pondering how far we’ve come (and, yes, how far we still have to go). So, absolutely, Happy International Women’s Day!

I am a little upset however that I haven’t seen one single post wishing anyone a Happy National Proofreading Day.

Proofreading is something I have loved my entire life. It all started when my mom was in university and I was in highschool. Mom was getting her degree part time while working full-time and raising my brother and I. Whenever she had an essay to hand in, she would ask me to take a look at it first and correct it. It always felt like a challenge or a treasure hunt, as long as I could find at least one mistake to fix, it seemed worthwhile.

Fast-forward 30 years and here I am making a living in communications, in equal part’s writing, editing and proofreading. I’d have to say proofreading is still my first love though. Its still like a treasure hunt every time.

So here’s to all my fellow proofreaders.Enjoy the day!

PS Want to practice your proofreading? Try to find all the errors in this post. (Hint: 15 of them are intentional. If you find anymore then that, let me know!)

2 thoughts on “Happy National Proofreading Day!

Leave a Reply

