NaNoWriMo OR Why I Plan to Ignore You This November

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_participant-150

November is National Novel Writing Month.

Every October I hear about it.

Every October I lurk about the NaNoWriMo website.

Every October I consider joining in this “fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing” that challenges writers to buckle down and produce approximately 1,666 words on a daily basis towards the goal of drafting a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 p.m. on November 30.

And every November I don’t.

Which is surprising on the one hand. I’m always up for a challenge, especially if there are rules and regulations and checklists (my house wouldn’t be as organized as it is if it weren’t for Nourishing Minimalism’s Decluttering Challenge, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, and The 30-Day Minimalism Game).

But not so surprising on the other. Because this is writing we’re talking about, not decluttering. I can come up with a million excuses not to write. (Funnily enough they’re the same ones I use not to exercise. Even more funnily “I need to go declutter something” is one of my favourites.) But it comes down to this: I’m afraid to start. And I’m even more afraid to finish.

But this November I’m done lurking and am ready to participate.

So if I don’t reply to your texts, if I don’t answer your emails, if I don’t pick up the phone and if I don’t like your shares on Facebook, please don’t take it personally. (And if I do, please tell me to stop procrastinating and get back to writing!)

I’ll be writing under the username JuniperWE if you care to do some lurking of your own. Or, if you decide to join the NaNoWriMo challenge and are looking for a writing buddy, look me up!

 

 

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo OR Why I Plan to Ignore You This November

  1. This is great! Now I don’t have to do a NaNoWriMo post over at The Gooseyard because I can just direct them to yours! Because, like you, I’ve been thinking about this for too many years now, and this year I’ve finally decided to take the plunge and have closed my eyes and am preparing to jump off the [creative] high diving board! Good luck with yours. Over and out until December.

    Like

  2. That’s so great! Good luck! I have also been lurking around the edges of this for the past three years but still remain gutless. I’m really looking forward to hearing about how you found the experience when you’re all done – and how you found the time to actually do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

